top of page

June 2022 EPEA Update #1 (June 7, 2022)

Updated: Sep 1, 2022

We made it!

Congratulations on your successful completion of the 2021-2022 school year. As you are packing away materials and spaces, EPEA leadership wishes you a break full of all the components that will fill you with joy, peace, and renewal.

Here are a few notable tidbits as we all head into summer break:


FRONTLINE WORKER PAYMENTS: Frontline workers, including school staff, can start applying next week for one-time payments to recognize their work during the early part of the COVID-19 pandemic. The application period is open June 8 through July 22 at Those eligible include ESPs, teachers, bus drivers, grocery store workers, factory workers, health care workers and many more. Employees in those categories are eligible for payment if:

  • They worked in person for at least 120 hours between March 15, 2020, and June 30, 2021.

  • They did not receive unemployment for more than 20 weeks during that period.

  • For educators, their wages were no more than $185,000 for a married taxpayer filing a joint return or $85,000 for all other filers.

All eligible applicants will receive an equal share of the available $500 million. Payments can’t exceed $1,500, but they could be lower if there are a significant number of applicants. We estimate payments will be around $750 per worker and will go out in early September as either direct bank deposits or mailed debit cards. Click here for more information on the frontline worker pay.



Do you want to learn more about your retirement pension?

Do you like free admission to the MN Landscape Arboretum?

Do you like a free lunch?

If you can answer yes to the above questions, then you want to consider attending the ESI-sponsored retirement pension training on June 20, 2022.

9:30 - 10 am: Registration/Visit member benefit exhibits 10 - 11:30 am: Seminar 11:45 - 12:15: Lunch

12:15 - 8pm: Visit/explore the beautiful gardens at The Arb



Congratulations to our 4 May 16th "Swag Day Winners," and thank you for showing "I am the Union" by wearing your EPEA swag.

Jann Viger - Cedar Ridge

Theresa Thum - Forest Hills

Yvette Toko - CMS

Amanda Rubelin - EPHS

Next Swag Day is September 19th!


2022-2023 EPEA STAFF:

A huge amount of gratitude to the following individuals who have stepped in to serve us all in an EPEA leadership role for the 2022-2023 school year. Please pass on your gratitude to these individuals.

Member Rights Advocates: Carla Thompson (Secondary - CMS) Laura Halloran (Elementary - OP) Dominic Kirkpatrick (Tassel / EC / Preschool - DW) Dharmisha Narayanan (Elementary - EHSI) Trainee Stacy Marek (Secondary - CMS) Trainee Josh Axtman (Secondary - EPHS) Trainee Natalie Sell (Secondary - EPHS) Trainee Meet and Confer Representatives: Patrick Andrus - Prairie View Kristin Cayo - Forest Hills Maria Chepokas - Eagle Heights Ann DeHoff - CMS Roxy Myhre- EPHS Nate Gabel- Leader Andrea McCarty - Cedar Ridge Brent Pottinger - Oak Point Mike Woizeschke - Eden Lake Joey Wagner - Tassel Q-Comp Steering: Katie Foley - EPHS New - Elementary Sara Rowan - CMS Insurance Committee: Rhett Larson - Elementary Jodie Flolid - Secondary Ed MN Field Staff Eric Herrmann Email:

Site Representatives: EPPEA: Theresa Thum Cedar Ridge: Kadee Ruhland and Sara Nelson Eagle Heights: Marisol Alcazar and Natalie Richards Eden Lake: Jenn Boyko and Mike Woizeschke Forest Hills: Paul McKay and Shelly Kasid Prairie View: Jessica Premo and Emily Salley Oak Point: Dianna Kelly and CMS: Su Michael, Marcus Moten, and Kristin Strauss EPHS: Jill Boyd, Charles Cooper, Dan Hennen, Joanne Peterson, Carol Snyder Relicensure Committee: Brent Bovitz - Cedar Ridge Lindsay Klaverkamp - CMS Maria Chepokas - Eagle Heights Angela Taylor - Tassel and EPO Liz Taylor - Eden Lake Karen Linscott - ECSE / ECFE Kevin Koetke - EPHS Dawn Head - Forest Hills Becky Sheehan - Oak Point Daniel Wright - Prairie View Negotiators: EPPEA: Aubrey Torkelson, Theresa Thum, Andrea Steinberg, Dominic Kirkpatrick EPEA: Rhett Larson, Charles Cooper, Michelle Rada, Nate Gabel, Dominic Kirkpatrick Workload and EPO Committees: To be confirmed Executive Board: Dominic Kirkpatrick, Nate Gabel, Brent Bovitz


Summer Happenings:

Over the summer EPEA / EPPEA prepares and makes ready several components for even better service to EPEA members next year:

- New Member Rights Advocates training

- Site Rep training

- Preschool negotiations

- New Teacher / Mentor Lunch Preparations

- Exec. Board Strategy meetings

- School Board Campaign Support

- Legislative Candidate Screenings

- Organizing for Settlement 2023-2025 Prep

- Summer Seminar Training


If you have any feedback, are in need of support, or would like to be a more active part of your union, please reach out! Summer blessings, Dominic

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page